JavaScript the Fun Part



Here we briefly review both JavaScript and ECMAScript, what are these?


Microsoft script technologies including VBScript and JScript were released in 1996. JScript, a reverse-engineered implementation of Netscape's JavaScript, was part of Internet Explorer 3.


ActionScript is an object-oriented programming language originally developed by Macromedia Inc. (later acquired by Adobe Systems). It is influenced by HyperTalk, the scripting language for HyperCard.[2] It is now an implementation of ECMAScript


Could you see the problem? Microsoft is implementing J-Script. Macromedia is implementing ActionScript. Every company is going to implement their own version of JavaScript!

In November 1996, Netscape submitted JavaScript to ECMA International to carve out a standard specification, which other browser vendors could then implement based on the work done at Netscape. This led to the official release of the language specification ECMAScript published in the first edition of the ECMA-262 standard in June 1997, with JavaScript being the most well known of the implementations. ActionScript and JScript were other well-known implementations of ECMAScript.

why ECMAScript

The language described by these standards is called ECMAScript, not JavaScript. A different name was chosen because Sun (now Oracle) had a trademark for the latter name. The “ECMA” in “ECMAScript” comes from the organization that hosts the primary standard.


ECMAScript® is the registered trademark of Ecma International. JavaScriptTM is the trademark of Oracle.

ECMAScript timeline

  1. ECMAScript 1 (June 1997): First version of the standard.
  2. ECMAScript 2 (June 1998): Small update to keep ECMA-262 in sync with the ISO standard.
  3. ECMAScript 3 (December 1999): Adds many core features – “[…] regular expressions, better string handling, new control statements [do-while, switch], try/catch exception handling, […]”
  4. ECMAScript 4 (abandoned in July 2008): Would have been a massive upgrade (with static typing, modules, namespaces, and more), but ended up being too ambitious and dividing the language’s stewards.
  5. ECMAScript 5 (December 2009): Brought minor improvements – a few standard library features and strict mode.
  6. ECMAScript 5.1 (June 2011): Another small update to keep Ecma and ISO standards in sync.
  7. ECMAScript 6 (June 2015): A large update that fulfilled many of the promises of ECMAScript 4. This version is the first one whose official name – ECMAScript 2015 – is based on the year of publication.
  8. ECMAScript 2016 (June 2016): First yearly release. The shorter release life cycle resulted in fewer new features compared to the large ES6.
  9. ECMAScript 2017 (June 2017). Second yearly release.

This was a brief timeline of releasing standard for JavaScript has been taken from:

Update: Thu Aug 15 2019 09:06:23 GMT+0430 (Iran Daylight Time)